Tag Archives: Olivarez

Iglupas stuns Balanga, bags Olivarez Cup crown

Khim Iglupas knocked off second seed Edilyn Balanga in a thrilling three-setter, 7-6(4), 4-6, 6-4, to capture the ladies Open singles crown in the fifth Olivarez Cup Open Tennis Championship at the Olivarez Sports Center in Sucat over the weekend.

The third-seeded Iglupas kept the momentum of her equally stinging three-set upset over Clarice Patrimonio in the semifinal round, and like her victory over the top seeded bet, the 16-year-old Philippine Tennis Academy-Manila mainstay broke Balanga once in the decider to clinch the championship.
The Iligan City native actually completed a golden double as she teamed up with Maia Balce to defeat sisters Clarice and Christine Patrimonio, 6-2, 7-5, to bag the doubles diadem.
Iglupas, who trains under Romy Chan, battled Balanga, who eased out Balce, 6-4, 6-4, in the semis, to a hold-hold game in the opener then pulled through in the tiebreak. But Balanga struck back in the second frame, breaking Iglupas early to force the decider.
After both players held serve in the first six games, Iglupas broke Balanga in the seventh then hung tough and foiled her rival’s bid to force a tiebreaker, ending the grueling two-hour, 40 minute showdown in the centerpiece division of the event presented by Palawan Pawnshop-Palawan Express Padala and sanctioned by the Philippine Tennis Association headed by president and Paranaque City Mayor Edwin Olivarez with Technifibre as the official ball.
“She played with a lot of guts and was impressive. Her victory should line her up for more championships,” said Palawan Pawnshop COO Bobby Castro of Iglupas, one of the country’s rising stars who’s been honing her talent and skills in the year-round, nationwide Palawan Pawnshop age-group circuit.
Second seed Johnny Arcilla, who scored a 6-2, 2-6, 5-0(ret.) win over Marc Reyes in the semis of the men’s Open singles, was playing No. 4 Vicente Anasta, who bundled out top seed PJ Tierro, 6-7(3), 6-3, 6-4, in the Final Four, at presstime.
Tierro earlier teamed up with Ronard Joven as the top seeded team trounced Arcilla and Kyle Dandan, 7-6(3), 6-3, to snare the men’s doubles plum.(pr)

Balce, Amistad roll into Olivarez Cup semis

Top seed Maia Balce and No. 2 Andrea Nicole Amistad overpowered their respective rivals with a pair of shutout wins to remain on course of a title clash in the girls’ 16-and-under division of the Olivarez Cup presented by Palawan Pawnshop at the Olivarez Sports Center in Sucat yesterday.
Balce and Amistad eased out Johanna Capinpin and Sophia Yap with 6-0, 6-0 romps with the latter taking on Monica Therese Cruz, who posted the lone upset in the group with a 6-2, 6-3 victory over third ranked Chloe Mae Saraza.
Balce will meet the winner between No. 4 Rafaella Villanueva, who will still face the victor in the Bettina Bautista-Karamina Atangan duel in the first round of the weeklong event held in honor of Philta president and Parañaque City Mayor Edwin Olivarez and backed by Dunlop Sports as official ball and Olivarez Sports Center.
Balce also moved into the quarterfinal round of the 18-and-under division against Stefi Del Rosario, who subdued Denise Jimenez, 6-4, 6-1, while top seed Katrina Orteza will square off with Torrance Arejola, who edged Patricia Rivera, 7-5, 6-4.
The third seeded Amistad duels with Ma. Angela Sunga while No. 4 Isabela Mendoza faces off with Jana Hernandez, who ousted Capinpin, 6-0, 6-2.
In boys’ play, Narahara Yosuke stunned No. 8 Jorou Librodo in a grueling match, 6-7(7), 6-2, 10-5, to barge into the second round of the 18-and-under class paced by fancied Andrew Cano, Marcen Gonzales, Romnee Joseph, Jose Nicolas Cano and Marc Agner.
Top seed Cano and No. 2 Gonzales drew opening round byes while Joseph and Cano scored walkover wins over Joshua Masangkay and Claudio Canlas, respectively, and Agner beat Nino Balanay, 6-3, 6-2.
Top seed Eric Jed Olivarez also won by default over Rodolfo Gabaldon and will take on Aljon Lusanta in the second round of the boys’ 16-and-under category of the event, part of the nationwide circuit put up by Palawan Pawnshop and sanctioned by Philta.
Joining Olivarez and Lusanta in the next round are No. 2 Jerome Romualdez, No. 3 Julian Dayrit, sixth ranked Emmanuel Fuellas, No. 7 Vincent Alanis and No. 8 Crhis Prulla.(pr)

Cebuana, Olivarez seal Inteclub title duel

Cebuana Lhuillier posted a second straight shutout win, this time blanking Team Sports Scholarship Program, 7-0, to arrange a title showdown with Team Olivarez in the Invitational Interclub tennis team championship at the Olivarez Sports Center in Sucat yesterday.

Romy Chan and Totoy Alina defeated Boy Paller and Auge Armillo, 8-0, while Jean Henri Lhuillier and Jun Toledo also scored an 8-0 rout of Jun Orquina and Robert Castro to lead Cebuana Lhuillier’s lopsided victory.

Other winners for the team, which also routed College Country Club, 7-0, and Villamor Tennis Club, 6-1, were Jacky Tomacruz-Gilbert Estrada, Manuel Suarez-Jojo Miranda and Manny Capulong-Jun Frias

Team Olivarez, meanwhile, also dominated Team SSP, 6-1, to clinch the other berth in the tournament serving as a side event in the third Olivarez Cup presented by Palawan Pawnshop and held in honor of former Paranaque mayor Dr. Pablo Olivarez.

“This is going to be an exciting final. Both teams boast of good players and reliable support cast,” said Philta president and Rep. Edwin Olivarez.

Pablo Olivarez teamed up wit Joseph Arcilla to edged Tim and Kim Polero, 8-6; Arvin Ruel and Karl Santamaria held off Inigo Caguiron and Delmer Miranda, 8-4; Pio Tolentino and Aldrin Geluz repulsed Torrecampo and Jeff Lee, 8-5; Allan Hermano and Sandel Daez outlasted Frank Paguyo and Noel Polero, 8-6; Eva Olivarez-Ilas and Anna Cadiz trounced Aica Pacana and Ruby Alingalan, 8-1; and Annie dela Pena and Rina Caniza dominated Michelle Mendoza and Lye Limjuco, 8-1.

Meanwhile, top seed Johnny Arcilla and Vicente Anasta clobbered Bobby Labrador and Expedito Lim Jr., 6-1, 6-3, to lead the quarterfinalists in the men’s doubles of the Olivarez Cup. They gun for the a semis seat against Radharani Reyes and Kristian Tenorio, who turned back Joel Cabusas and Francis Patino, 2-6, 6-4, 10-8.

Second seed Ronard Joven and Leander Lazaro also advanced with a walkover win and will next face Michael Madrio and Fritz Verdad, who downed Chat Conta and Arnold Rodriguez, 6-2, 6-2.(pr)