Kabacan ES wins Kadayawan crown

Kadayawan volleyball
BACK-TO-BACK. Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) Commissioner Charles Raymond A. Maxey awards the champion’s trophy to Kabacan Elementary School after topping the Kadayawan Girls Volleyball Tournament that closed Sunday afternoon at the University of Mindanao (UM) gym in Matina, Davao City. KES, which then represented Barangay 76-A Bucana, was also champion of the Davao Children’s Games held in May. PSC-PSI
Kabacan ES wins Kadayawan crown
DAVAO CITY – Davao Children’s Games 2017 champion Kabacan Elementary School (KES) of Barangay 76-A Bucana added a feather on its cap by capturing the Philippine Sports Commission (PSC)-backed Kadayawan Girls Volleyball title at the University of Mindanao (UM) Gym here Sunday afternoon.
KES defeated Tambobong Elementary School (TES), 25-12, 25-10, in the championship match, relying on team captain Sophia Pabilona who swept the best attacker and most valuable player (MVP) titles.
Pabilona’s service aces helped KES secure the crown and the P10,000 championship prize while TES received P7,000 in the three-day league for girls 13 years old and below.
Talandang Elementary School, which beat Vicente Hizon Sr. Elementary School, 25-22, 25-21, placed third and got P5,000.
Twelve-year-old Pabilona said, “Lipay kaayo mi nga nag-champion mi kay mao jud ang goal namo (We’re happy to be champions again, that’s really our goal).”
She also thanked the PSC for holding a tournament for them as they get rarely invited for competitions that often feature private school teams.
The other special awardees were best server Princess Juanillo (KES), best digger Aiza Suazo (Tambobong), best setter Lynette Putian (KES) and second best attacker Cherrylou Tomas (Talandang Elementary School).
Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) Commissioner Charles Raymond A. Maxey awarded the prizes, trophies and certificates to the winners during the closing program.
Maxey, in his message, thanked the parents for supporting their children as well as school officials and the participating teams for making the event successful.
“Nagpasalamat ko sa inyong tanan, wala ning padula kung wala mo. Hinaut sa sunod pa namo nga mga programa sa sports diri inyo gihapong suportahan (We thank you for your support, this would have not been possible if not for you. I hope that in our future programs here you will still continue to support us),” he said.
He also thanked their partners in organizing the tournament  – the city government of Davao through the Sports Development Division of the City Mayor’s Office (SDD-CMO), Department of Education (Deped) Davao City Division and Davao Sportswriters Association (DSA).
The event was held in coordination with the Philippine Sports Institute (PSI) in Mindanao and was officiated by the Balibolista de Dabaw. PSC-PSI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s