Robins, Dudas top Safeguard 5i50 triathlon

First timers Mitchell Robins of Australia and Hungary’s Ezster Dudas upstaged the veteran campaigners to dominate their respective divisions in the inaugural Safeguard Active 5i50 Triathlon in scorching heat in Subic Bay’s Kamana Resort yesterday.
Robins made up for his so-so stint in the 1.5-km swim leg with strong performances in the bike (40km) and run (10km) stages, bagging the men’s crown in two hours, five minutes and 22 seconds.
“I knew that if I was going to do the race I’m capable of I was going to be close to the front. You never know but I’m always confident,” said Robins, a 24-year-old P.E. teacher from Sydney.
Csaba Kuttor and Peter Bajai of Hungary came in second and third with 2:06:17 and 2:08:18 clockings, respectively, while Swede Frederik Croneborg checked in fourth in 2:09:26 followed by Michael Murphy (2:11:19) of Australia.
John Leerams Chicano emerged as the top Filipino finisher in 2:14:35 for sixth overall while another local bet Banjo Norte ended up ninth overall in 2:21:23.
Dudas, on the other hand, topped the women’s side in wire-to-wire fashion, turning in a 2:21:32 clocking to beat veteran Belinda Granger of Australia, who timed 2:28:12.
“I was imagining (winning) but I wasn’t sure. I was leading the race but I heard she was very fast on the bike so I was afraid of her,” Dudas said of Granger.
Both Robins and Dudas were first timers in local triathlon.
Filipina Monica Torres finished third in 2:38:25.
“I just hung out and it was pretty normal for me,” said Torres

The event, which drew over 300 participants, was organized by Sunrise Events, Inc. and sponsored by The Philippine STAR and MultiSport Magazine (media partners) with support from 2XU, Air Asia, Aqua Sphere, Coca-Cola, Century Tuna, David’s Salon, Devant, Garmin, Health Food, Intercare, LBC, Planet Sports, Prudential Guarantee, Smart, Rudy Project and Vellum.(pr)

Leave a Reply

