Balce, Amistad roll into Olivarez Cup semis

Top seed Maia Balce and No. 2 Andrea Nicole Amistad overpowered their respective rivals with a pair of shutout wins to remain on course of a title clash in the girls’ 16-and-under division of the Olivarez Cup presented by Palawan Pawnshop at the Olivarez Sports Center in Sucat yesterday.
Balce and Amistad eased out Johanna Capinpin and Sophia Yap with 6-0, 6-0 romps with the latter taking on Monica Therese Cruz, who posted the lone upset in the group with a 6-2, 6-3 victory over third ranked Chloe Mae Saraza.
Balce will meet the winner between No. 4 Rafaella Villanueva, who will still face the victor in the Bettina Bautista-Karamina Atangan duel in the first round of the weeklong event held in honor of Philta president and Parañaque City Mayor Edwin Olivarez and backed by Dunlop Sports as official ball and Olivarez Sports Center.
Balce also moved into the quarterfinal round of the 18-and-under division against Stefi Del Rosario, who subdued Denise Jimenez, 6-4, 6-1, while top seed Katrina Orteza will square off with Torrance Arejola, who edged Patricia Rivera, 7-5, 6-4.
The third seeded Amistad duels with Ma. Angela Sunga while No. 4 Isabela Mendoza faces off with Jana Hernandez, who ousted Capinpin, 6-0, 6-2.
In boys’ play, Narahara Yosuke stunned No. 8 Jorou Librodo in a grueling match, 6-7(7), 6-2, 10-5, to barge into the second round of the 18-and-under class paced by fancied Andrew Cano, Marcen Gonzales, Romnee Joseph, Jose Nicolas Cano and Marc Agner.
Top seed Cano and No. 2 Gonzales drew opening round byes while Joseph and Cano scored walkover wins over Joshua Masangkay and Claudio Canlas, respectively, and Agner beat Nino Balanay, 6-3, 6-2.
Top seed Eric Jed Olivarez also won by default over Rodolfo Gabaldon and will take on Aljon Lusanta in the second round of the boys’ 16-and-under category of the event, part of the nationwide circuit put up by Palawan Pawnshop and sanctioned by Philta.
Joining Olivarez and Lusanta in the next round are No. 2 Jerome Romualdez, No. 3 Julian Dayrit, sixth ranked Emmanuel Fuellas, No. 7 Vincent Alanis and No. 8 Crhis Prulla.(pr)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s