Iligan runner, Avergonzado top Phoenix race

More than 3,000 runners from Mindanao and Manila painted the streets of Davao City red and white at the 2nd Araw ng Dabaw Phoenix Marathon held Sunday, March 10, 2013 at the SM Lanang Premier. The marathon dubbed as the “SM to SM Run” featured distances from 3K, 5K, 10K, 21K and 42K.
The race to the 42K men’s category was very close: Iligan native Jeffrey Sotto (2:37:48) finished only four seconds ahead of Davao runner Anthony Nerza (2:37:52) to cross the 42K finish line first. Brian Quiamco came in third with a time of 2:47:57, followed by Rodel Quilab (2:53:11) and Jensen Lloyd Pasaporte (2:56:49).
In the 42K women’s race, Davaoeña Emily Avergonzado finished on top with a time of 3:27:15. Coming in second was Cynthia Jaro (3:33:13), who finished less than half a minute earlier than third placer Mona Lisa Ambasa (3:33:35). Cristy Sevellino (3:37:07) and Michelle Batac (3:39:24) rounded out the top five women marathoners.
42K champions each received a grand prize of P25,000 in cash. Second placers received P15,000, third placers P10,000, fourth P5,000, and fifth P3,000.
In the 21K race, Rafael Poliquit led the men with a time of 1:13:30. Philip Dueñas (1:14:06) finished second, followed by Joebert Carolino (1:15:29) at third, Gilbert Maluyo (1:20:12) at fourth, and Arnie Macañeras (1:32:21) at fifth.
Mary Joy Tabal finished first among women in the 21K with a time of 1:25:44, while Creselyn Jaro (1:36:49) came second. Third to fifth finishers were Ruffa Sorongon (1:38:32), April Rose Diaz (1:41:38), and Gloria Mae Pastoren (2:04:00).
21K champions each received P15,000 cash, second placers P10,000, third P5,000, fourth P2,500, and fifth P1,500.
In the 10K category for men, Sonny Wagdos led comfortably to first place with a time of 00:33:22. Brian Lupio came in second at 00:35:08, only 11 seconds ahead of third placer Jesmar Lopez (00:35:17). They were followed by Elmer Bartolo (00:36:14) and Roy Quilab (00:37:20).
May Baret outran the rest of the women in the 10K race with a time of 00:42:33. Richie Dala took the second spot at 00:44:10, followed by Celie Rose Jaro (00:46:19), Sacha Diaz (00:48:40), and Cecil Jaro (00:58:10).
10K first placers received P5,000 each. Second placers received P4,000, third P3,000, fourth P1,500, and fifth P500 each.
The 5K race was a close fight among the men and women, with the top three finishers only ahead of each other by seconds. Rolly Paderna (00:15:45) came first among the men, leading over Michael Constantino (00:15:58) and Michael Barrosa (00:16:05).
Among women, Jolly Mae Gabaisen was the first to finish 5K at 00:20:04. Closely behind were Merlyn Ledesma (00:20:37) and Daisy Canencia (00:21:09).
5K first placers each received P3,000, second placers P2,000, and third P1,000.
In the 3K race, less than 11 minutes was all it took for young Jason Olan-Olan (00:10:45) to finish first among the boys, over Edrian Bitulan (00:11:10) and Keciv Abrigon (00:11:54). The girls race was dominated by Rosenelyn Pepillo (00:12:13), who led over Anna Marie Depone (00:13:09) and Mariane Dojo (00:15:03).
The 3K first placers received P1,500, second placers P1,000, and third P500 each.
The Phoenix Marathon is one of the city’s biggest races, joined by runners from Davao and other cities. Biggest delegation was Team Titans of the Phoenix Trip Ko Basketball Fuels Cup, winning P7,000 for the special award.
TV5 actors Benjie Paras and Erika Padilla joined the post-run program.
Proceeds from the 2nd Araw ng Dabaw Phoenix Marathon will support the advocacies of Phoenix Philippines Foundation, Inc.
The 2nd Araw ng Dabaw Phoenix Marathon is presented by Phoenix Petroleum Philippines, Pioneer Insurance, Marra Builders, SM City Davao, and SM Lanang Premier. It is held in partnership with the City Government of Davao, TV5 as the official media partner, and was organized by Vantage Sports.
Major sponsors of the Phoenix Petroleum Araw ng Dabaw events are Connex Technology & Industrial Services, Joy Trade Marketing, Kairos, Contractors Supply Depot, Custom Grafix, Seadove Maritime Services, Inc., and Trans-overseas (Gilbarco). Gold sponsors are Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf, Brenton Engineering Product Corp, Mechatrends, EEI Construction & Marine, Inc., and BDO. Silver sponsors are Gov. Arturo Uy, Servityre/Aeolous, ESBE Builders, Isuzu Davao, Yangking Engineering, RB Apilado, FC Core Construction, EMCOR, HSBC, and Development Bank of the Philippines. Bronze sponsors are Chinatrust, Loc-Seal Industrial Corp., Unifield Enterprises, Fluidynamics, Motortrade, Cebu DLS, Ohcotech Corporation, RMH Engineering, Astig Energy Drink, Unifrutti, DOLE Philippines, Marchael Fishing, Pollo Porco Lechon, China Bank, KEWL Solutions, Fasttrack Solutions, Inc., Greenflex Consulting, Hope Management & Engineering Services, Land Bank of the Philippines, H2Zero, Nature Spring, and IEPI-International Engineers Phils, Inc.(pr)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s