Van der Valk tops PGT Q-School

Guido Van der Valk of the Netherlands slowed down with a four-over 76 but still gained the top honors in the PGT Q-School while former national player Jude Eustaquio bested the local field at the close of the four-day elims at Splendido Taal Golf Club in Tagaytay yesterday.

Van der Valk, who pulled away from the field with 67 and 71 in the middle rounds, hit just two birdies in another windy day and had two bogeys and a pair of double-bogeys to turn in his worst round in four days of the tournament conducted by the Philippine Golf Tournaments Inc.

But that hardly mattered as the Dutch ace relied on his big eight-shot cushion Thursday and finished with a 286 to hold off a charging Japanese pair of Tomokazu Yoshinaga and Toru Nakajima, who both shot 70s for 288s.

The troika plus six other foreign bets thus gained their cards for this year’s ICTSI Philippine Golf Tour which fires off March 20 at Sherwood Hills in Cavite.

Eustaquio carded a 71 and wound up fourth overall at 298 while leading 32 other local players in the Tour proper, which features a record 17-stage circuit.

Others who gained full status were Dino Villanueva and Belem Arancon, who ended up with 299s after a 71 and 75, respectively, while Paul Echavez and amateur Agustin Mata finished tied at 303 after a 76 and 77, respectively.

Four other amateurs gained their Tour cards, including Chris Mamaril (80-306), Lawrence Celestino (80-311), Mike Yee (80-313) and Mark Dy (79-316), while Artemio Murakami, a former leg winner and Asian Tour campaigner, skied to 77 but still regained his card with a 318 for joint 18th.

The other qualifiers were Junio Vesinica (72-304), Edward Reyes (73-304), Rene Menor (73-305), Peter Villaber (73-305), Art Arbole (72-306), Aly Sinfuego (72-308), Albin Engino (76-308), Glenn de Leon (76-308), Johvanie Abaño (80-308), Edwin Estrera (74-309), Angelo Anzuris (75-309), Ebarra Quiachon (74-310), Nilo Salahog (77-310);

Jet Mathay (82-310), Peter Miñoza (78-313), Paul Vesinica (76-314), Freddie Baligasa (78-314), Raul Miñoza (82-314), Gene Villaruz (76-315), Paul Miñoza (79-316), Vic Santia (81-316), Lino Retuerto (83-316) and Arnel Enema (86-316).

They will join the top 40 players in last year’s Order of Merit rankings, headed by topnotcher Tony Lascuna.

The other foreign qualifiers were Phil Cho, Wooram Suh, Park Jun Song, Micah Shin, Hanmil Jung and amateur Byron Cho.(pr)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s