‘4 at the Fore’: PAL Interclub returns to Cebu

Cebu Country Club will eye back-to-back titles in the regular division
as four courses will be employed for the very first time in tournament
history in the 66th Philippine Airlines Interclub golf team
championships starting February 21.
Cebu, which hosts the unofficial national golf team championship for
the first time in 12 years, has the luxury of the hometown advantage
as its confidence was boosted after winning last year’s title over Del
Monte in Davao.
This year’s host unravels four golf courses for the event, hence the
theme “4 at the Fore.”
Canlubang will defend the seniors’ title it narrowly won last year in
Davao in this year’s edition set February 21-24 at the Alta Vista Golf
and Country Club and Club Filipino de Cebu Golf Club. A record 100
teams, including 53 from abroad, were entered in the seniors event.
Cebu Country Club and Mactan Island Golf Club will host the regular
Interclub set February 26 to March 2. More than half of the 78 squads
in the regular Interclub are from overseas.
Presented by PAL, the event is sponsored by Mareco Broadcasting
Network (Crossover), Solar Entertainment, Plantation Bay and Media
Five. It is also backed by major sponsors Manila Broadcasting Corp.,
Philippine Broadcasting Network, Stargate Media and Radio Mindanao
Corporate sponsors include Shangri La Hotel Mactan, Boeing
International Corp., Radisson Blu Hotel and Philippine Daily Inquirer.
Minor sponsor is Ginebra San Miguel.
Last year, Lloyd Go contributed 70 points in two days to carry Cebu
Country Club to an eight-point win over Del Monte in the Regular
The Cebuanos finished the four-day, five-to-play, four-to-count event
with 507 points. Third place went to Alabang Golf with 493 points.
Wack Wack won the Founders division with 476 points as the
Mandaluyong-based team edged Orchard (461) and Negros (445).
The Sportswriters class went to Camp John Hay (411) followed by Eagle
Ridge (388) and Mt. Malindang (387).
In the Friendship division, Austral-Asian (303), Fil-Am Hawaii (284)
and PGA British Columbia (282) finished in the top three in that
Competition was stiff in the seniors’ tournament as Canlubang rallied
in the final round to edge old rival Luisita, 571-568. Cebu Country
Club landed a strong third with 566 points.
Manila Golf Club nipped Apo Golf, 524-523, to win the Founders crown
while Fil-Am Hawaii came home with the Sportswriters plum with 479
ahead of Davao (473) and Chamorro (472).
Club Intramuros bagged the Friendship class with 442 with Fil-Am
Florida (389) and Southbay (384) at second and third, respectively.(pr)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s