Dabawenyo romps to 9-stroke win, bags OOM crown

Tony Lascuna holds his trophy with Wack Wack president Dr. Philip Ella Juico as daughter Shnaryl looks on during awards rites.
Tony Lascuna holds his trophy with Wack Wack president Dr. Philip Ella Juico as daughter Shnaryl looks on during awards rites.



Davao City’s Tony Lascuna turned the final round of the P2.5 million ICTSI Wack Wack Championship into a victory walk as he cruised to a whopping nine-stroke victory over fellow Dabawenyo Elmer Salvador with a 72 and claimed the coveted Order or Merit crown at Wack Wack’s East course yesterday.

With the title virtually bagged after posting a huge seven-point lead over Salvador and Que after three rounds, Lascuna just went through the motions and settled for two birdies and the same number of bogeys, his closing even-par card capping not only a brilliant campaign in the richest leg of the ICTSI Philippine Golf but also in the entire season.

He wound up with an eight-under 280 total, pocketed the top P450,000 purse and wrapped up the OOM crown with a total earnings of P2.25 million, emerging the lone three-leg winner in the 15-stage circuit organized by Pilipinas Golf Tournaments, Inc.

The ace Davaoeno shotmaker, also the highest-ranked Filipino at No, 12 at the end of this year’s Asian Tour, basked in glory when he received his paycheck with wife Sheryl and seven-year-old daughter Shnaryl from Wack Wack Golf and Country Club president Dr. Philip Ella Juico during awards rites graced by ICTSI PR manager Narlene Soriano and PGTI general manager Colo Ventosa.

“This is definitely the best year of my life since I started to play golf at 12,” said Lascuna, who also topped the ICTSI Eagle Ridge and Manila Southwoods legs this year.

Salvador, who had hoped for a victory to get a crack at the second OOM title, ended up with a birdie-less 74 after matching Lascuna’s opening 37 but still finished solo second at 289 as Que hobbled with a closing 40 for a 78 and tumbled down to joint sixth at 293.

Salvador, the Order of Merit winner in 2009, took home P320,000 and finished second in the OOM race with total winnings of P1.6 million.

Clyde Mondilla also matched par on another challenging day and tied for third with two-leg winner Zanie Boy Gialon, who had a 73, at 291 worth P180,000 each while last year’s champion Frankie Minoza took solo fifth at 292 after a 73 for P110,000.

James Ryan Lam and Carl Santos-Ocampo joined Que in sixth after a 75 and 77, respectively, while Arnold Villacencio shot a 70 to salvage a share of ninth place with Richard Sinfuego, who had a 74, at 295.

Miguel Tabuena, who had a fine start of two wins in the first six legs of the ICTSI-sponsored circuit, skied to a 76 and wound up 15th with a 299 while Juvic Pagunsan carded a 73 to finish at joint 28th with Richard Abaring, who had a 75, and Terence Macatangay, who made a 78, at 306.

The other backers of the event were Empire Golf, Titleist, Footjoy, Callaway, TaylorMade, Mizuno, Srixon, Nike Golf, Custom Clubmakers and Sharp with Balls, Studio 23, Pinoygolfer.com and Inquirer Golf as media partners.(pr)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s