Oba-ob stuns Villanueva in PBaRS Davao opener

Rabie Jason Oba-ob produced the biggest win in the third leg of the MVP Sports Foundation-Bingo Bonanza Philippine Badminton Ranking System (PBaRS) tournament, Saturday, upending joint sixth seed Gabriel Villanueva before a big crowd at the Wheel ‘N More badminton courts in Davao City.
Oba-ob, playing out of Team Prima/Yonex, surprised the national team/Victor/Prima mainstay with a superb game in their 30-minute encounter, essaying a 21-15, 21-15 victory to reach the third round of the men’s Open singles event.
He will next face Charlo Tengco of Golden Shuttle Foundation/UP Diliman, who survived Sherman Olalia, 20-22, 21-19, 21-8, in the first round before scoring a walkover win over Whackers’ Stephen Sagayan.
GSF’s Antonino Gadi, seeking a third straight championship in the premier division of the event put up by Vice President and Philippine Badminton Association president Jejomar Binay, Rep. Albee Benitez and businessman-sportsman Manny V. Pangilinan, bucked a shaky first set stint and went on to finish off Miguel Leonardo, 21-18, 21-3, to set up a third round match with Carlos Cayanan.
The joint No. 8 Cayanan, a national team/Victor mainstay, thwarted Randy Bermejo of REHAB, 24-22, 21-18 to reach the Last 16 stage of the tournament, backed by official equipment sponsor Victor, exclusively distributed by PCOME Industrial Sales, Inc.
Others who advanced were fourth seed Peter Magnaye, who scored a walkover win over Jude Bangayan; joint No. 8 Aries delos Santos, who trounced Ian Bautista, 21-13; 21-15; joint No. 6 Joper Escueta, who subdued Ian Mendez, 21-15, 18-21, 21-16; Randolph Balatbat, who downed Asis Calma, 21-13, 21-6; Ronel Estanislao, who dominated Cleric Durano, 21-5, 21-15; fifth ranked Jaime Junio Jr., who whisked off Mark Robilla, 21-5, 21-4; and Jobett Co, who tripped Jesschard Piol, 21-15, 21-9.
Jules Abrasado also stunned GSF’s John Orellano, 19-21, 21-16, 21-12, to lead the early winners in the boys’ 19-Under singles of the five-day event supported by PLDT-Smart Foundation, Victor PCOME Industrial Sales, Gatorade and Powersmash with The Philippine STAR, TV5, Badminton Extreme Philippines Magazine, Jam 88.3, Wave 89.1, Magic 89.9, 99.5 RT and 103.5 WOW! as media partners.
Joining Abrasado in the next round are Ederico Verano of REHAB, who toppled Mark Robilla, 21-8, 21-12; Paolo Santos, who pulled off a 21-13, 23-25, 5-1 (Ret.) win over Jack Gambe; Wilson Lopez, who clipped Roeland Briones, 21-6, 21-5; Eddie Gacayan Jr., who thwarted Jesschard Piol, 21-17, 21-18; Manuel Villanueva, who beat Lance Osorio, 21-11, 21-7; John Baluyot, who defeated Jimbo Flores, 21-16, 21-19; and Christian Cuyno, who routed Vince Lagnada, 21-10, 21-11.
Leading the early winners in the boys’ 15-under class are joint third seed Armand Manlalangit and Julius Quindoza, Vincent Manuel, Emilio Mangubat Jr., Ronald Omana, Joven Bagasbas, Patrick Sumabat, Paul Gonzales, Patrick Gecosala, William Cervantes, Jade Carillo, Josh Martinez and Keeyann Gabuelo.
Action in the ladies Open singles, featuring the likes of Bianca Carlos and Gelita Castilo, and the girls 19-U and 15-U divisions along with the doubles in various classes starts on Sunday.(pr)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s