Alcala, De Vera breeze thru PBaRS Last 16

Markie Alcala bundled out Junean Hendriyanto with a clinical 21-8, 21-3 rout to cruise to the third round of the U-15 boys singles while Faith De Vera held off Angela Ramos, 21-18, 21-18, in the girls side in the third round action of the P1-million Philippine Badminton Ranking System (PBaRS) at the Powersmash in Makati City.
The 12-year-old Alcala, younger brother of top Phl ace Malvinne and holder of the U-13 crown in the recent Ming Ramos-Victor National Open, dominated Hendriyanto with his wide array of shots with the Allied-Victor bet essaying the victory in 19 minutes for a Last 16 match with Vincent Manuel, who disposed of Wilson Lopez, 21-14, 21-11.
De Vera, playing of WWGBA, hung tough in the closing stages of each set to thwart an equally determined Ramos as she arranged a duel with Kyle Bernas for a spot in the quarterfinals in the event sponsored by MVP Sports Foundation-Goal Pilipinas!, Bingo Bonanza Corp. and Victor.
Gabrile Vargas of JLTC produced the toughest win in the day, battling back from a first set setback and holding on to pull off a cliffhanger of a win over Boris Sumabat of WWGBA, 11-21, 21-17, 26-24.
In the Open class, Danica Bolos, Jen Cayetano, Anna Barredo, Alizandra Candelaria, Ma. Bianca Carlos, Pamela Lim, Pauline Tan and fancied Gelita Castilo all advanced to the Last 16 of the tournament backed by PLDT-Smart Foundation, Victor PCOME Industrial Sales, Gatorade and Powersmash with The Philippine STAR, TV5, Badminton Extreme Philippines Magazine, Jam 88.3, Wave 89.1, Magic 89.9, 99.5 RT and 103.5 WOW! as media partners.
Bolos booted out Paula Filart, 21-10, 21-8; Cayetano scored a 20-2 (Ret.) win over Anna Lyn Tadeo; Barredo, a national team mainstay, defeated Kristine Cornista, 21-10, 21-8; Candelaria held off Isabel Tan, 21-16, 21-10; Carlos and Lim won by default over Janelle De Vera and Audrey Ng; Tan thwarted Kristina Tan, 21-13, 21-18; and Castilo whipping Mayen Chua, 21-7, 21-0.Others who advanced in the U-15 boys division were Arman Manlalangit, Cayel Pajarillo, Jan Sinfuego, Julius Quindoza, Don Balatbat, Jyrus Casilan, Frell Gabuelo, Glen Lopez, Joaquin Deato, Wilfred Deato, Alvin Morada, Patrick Gecosala and Josef Dumapit.
Manlalangit won over Edrikkson Malibiran, 21-8. 21-10; Pajarillo downed John Batiles, 21-7, 21-5; Sinfuego beat Paul Gonzales, 21-17, 21-14; Quindoza prevailed over Melvin Sarao, 21-14-, 21-3; Balatbat ripped Ramoncito Victoria, 21-11, 21-10; Casilan outclassed Juacs Nadong, 21-8; 21-10; Gabuelo routed Ryan Dizer, 21-7, 21-0; Lopez tripped Kenneth Cuden, 21-8, 21-6;
Joaquin Deato held off Enrico Asuncion, 21-8, 21-13; Wilfred Deato beat Karl Ganaden, 21-15, 21-9; Morada overcame Nephtali Pineda, 21-18, 21-12; Gecosala dominated Michael Clemente, 21-10, 21-6; and Dumapit toppled Jose Santelices, 21-9, 21-14.
Joining De Vera in the girls side were Christine Inlayo, who scored a walkover win over Aldreen Concepcion; and Alyssa Leonardo, Mikaela Aquino, Jessie Francisco, Mikaela Dayanghirang, Ysabelle Dumandan, Samantha Ramos, Giselle Manuel and Joy Anuales, who all scored straight-set victories over their respective rivals.
Bianca de Guzman needed three sets to stop Djali Balingcongan, 21-23, 23-21, 21-15, while Joela De Vera and Ellysa Nolasco beat Michelle Cruz, 21-13, 21-9, and Angela Olonan, 21-10, 21-0, respectively.
For results and other details, log on to


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s