Servando repulses De Vera in PBaRS tourney

Bacolod’s Nikki Therese Servando upstaged a Phl junior member while national team mainstay Philip Joper Escueta sustained his fiery form to lead the Round of 32 winners in the U-19 singles events of the P1-million Philippine Badminton Ranking System (PBaRS) at the Powersmash in Makati City, Monday.
Servando of Pohang Badminton Club rallied back from a one-set deficit to thwart Janelle Gloriane De Vera of the Phl juniors team, 19-21, 21-9, 21-9, and advance in the distaff side of the meet, the kickoff leg of a four-stage nationwide ranking circuit.
Escueta, seeking to add the PBaRS crown to his Prima Pasta Open and last year’s National Open titles, lived up to his top billing, whipping Christian Crisostomo of UP-Diliman, 21-9, 21-4, to spearhead the march of the favorites in the next round.

Similarly nosing out a Phl juniors bet was Joshua Monterubio, who scored a 23-21, 21-9 triumph over Theodore Christopher Co.

The rest of the national juniors squad – Carlos Antonie Cayanan, John Kenneth Monterubio, Gerald Sibayan, and Danica San Ignacio – moved forward in the eight-day tournament sponsored by MVP Sports Foundation-Goal Pilipinas!, Bingo Bonanza Corp. and Victor.
Cayanan defeated John Paolo Santos of JLTC, 21-17, 21-12; Monterubio turned back Sean Kevin Chan of JC Badminton, 21-13, 21-8; Sibayan prevailed over Jesschard Piol of Whackers BA, 21-15, 21-18; and San Ignacio dominated Michal Dei Duquilla of Escoses Training Camp, 21-16, 21-9.
Also advancing were Jon Jelson Masonsong of Whackers BA, 21-10, 21-9 winner over Miguel Luis Ramos of Golden Shuttle; Lance Bautista of Allied-Victor, 21-17, 21-12 winner over John Nourbert Orellano of Golden Shuttle; and Christian Sison of Whackers, 21-14, 21-12 winner over Jose Lorenzo Yason of JLTC.
Other Round of 32 victors were Golden Shuttle Foundation bets Justin Wilbert Natividad, Karl Jeffrey Foronda, Kyle Patrick Gosiaco, and Clarence Filart; Allied-Victor aces Kevin Michael Cudiamat and Ethan Joshua Malelang; and Prima stalwarts Elija Boac and Rabie Jason Obaob.
Joining Servando in the next stage were Golden Shuttle’s Ma. Bianca Ysabel Carlos, Slina Conception Sandiego, Patrisha Malibiran, Shaina Althea Osorio, and Ma. Victoria Vizmonte; UP’s Mitzel Desiree Buiza; Escoses’ Pamela Marie Lim and Mayen Chua, IJMS Badminton Club’s Ma. Elisha Ongcuangco; and Allied-Victor’s Alizandra Candelaria.
Jane Marie Macabenta, Gabrielle Manahan, Li Ning’s Dia Nicole Magno and Bettina Abrahan likewise got through in the tourney backed by PLDT-Smart Foundation, Victor PCOME Industrial Sales, Gatorade and Powersmash with The Philippine STAR, TV5, Badminton Extreme Philippines Magazine, Jam 88.3, Wave 89.1, Magic 89.9, 99.5 RT and 103.5 WOW! as media partners.
For results and other details, log on to


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s