4,500 join 1st Araw ng Dabaw Phoenix Run; Kenyans win in 21k


A record 4,500 runners raced in the 1st Araw ng Dabaw Phoenix Run in Davao City on Sunday, March 13, with participants coming from as far as Cebu, Manila, Cagayan de Oro, Cotabato, and Tagum.

Kenyans dominated the 21k race in both male and female categories. It took Benjamin Kipzaki just 1 hour and 8 minutes to run from Roxas Boulevard to the old airport and back, and female winner Susan Jemutai 1 hour and 28 minutes to finish. This was the first time for the Kenyans to join a Davao run. Filipinos took the other spots: Anthony Nerza (1:09:24) and Rafael Paliquit (1:11:52) at second and third for men, and Cebu’s Mary Jo Tabal (1:28:42) and Cynthia Jaro (1:30:09) at second and third for women.

In the 10k race, Brian Lupio came first at 32:35 for men and Mary Grace delos Santos at 40:31 for women. They were followed by Arnie Macareñas and Mae Barit, and Jobert Carolino and April Rose Diaz, at second and third.

Fifteen minutes and 51 seconds was all Daniel Diego needed to finish first at the 5k race, while female winner Diane Memoracion clocked in at 19:35. At second and third places were Roy Leonor and Bethloise Moralde, and Philip Ocon and Christy Joy Capañarihan, respectively.

Finishing first at the 3k race for 12 years old and under were Dorold Dojo at 11:35 for boys, and Lara June Gayrama at 12:30 for girls. Ronillo Goc-Ong and Judy Amparados came in second, while James Lloyd Guibone and Jocelyn Abrigon finished third.

Other fun events in the Phoenix Run included a raffle, the Biggest School, NGO/Corporate and Government Delegation and the Jazz Up your Singlet contest.

The 1st Araw ng Dabaw Phoenix Run was themed “Takbo Para Sa KinaBOOKasan” for the benefit of Phoenix Philippines Foundation’s adopted schools which will receive educational books.

The Araw ng Dabaw Phoenix Run 2011 was presented by Phoenix Petroleum Philippines, co-presented by Pioneer Insurance, Isuzu Philippines, Cebu Pacific, Summit Natural Drinking Water, Suzuki Philippines, and Kangqi International, and organized by Vantage Sports Promotions.

Major sponsors were Sea Dove Maritime Resources, Custom Grafix, BDO, BPI, EEI, Starpump, Trans-overseas, Measurement & Controls, Marra Builders, Asia Brewery, and Mechatrends. Gold sponsor was Moonbeam Realty. Silver sponsors were Chinatrust Philippines, Timex, Servityre, Development Bank of the Philippines, Wiltelcom, Smart Infinity, and Malayan Insurance. Bronze sponsors are ATR Kim Eng, Philippines Business Bank/Zest Air, F2 Logistics, ESBE, DOLE-Stanfilco, El Nino, Unifrutti, and Global Synergy Trade Distributor. Donors were Davao Cathay and IPI Efficascent.(pr)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s