Ardina chases 1st So Ladies crown; Dabawenyas Ikeda, Ababa join hunt

US-based Dottie Ardina tries to make the most of her remaining two-week stay here as she goes for her first-ever crown in the Southern Ladies golf tournament crown unfolding on Thursday, Feb. 4, at the Ilolio Golf and Country Club in Sta. Barbara, Iloilo.
Ardina, on an extended stay here after teaming up with fellow ICTSI team mainstays Dabawenya Chihiro Ikeda and Mia in winning the team gold in the Laos SEA Games last December, has fallen short of her bid in the Philippine Ladies Open and The Country Club Invitational and is raring to nail down her first victory in the season.
Meanwhile, Alice Andrada, NGAP treasurer and chairperson of the NGAP Ladies Committee, NGAP directors Frankie Locsin and Pablo Soon, Butch Jamerlan, IGCCI club manager, and Maggie Rivera, president of Iloilo Golf Ladies Chapter, will hit the ceremonial drive on Wednesday, Feb. 3, for the traditional Lam-Am tournament.

Ardina, the former Junior World champion, has actually racked up two victories on the FWCT (Future World Collegiate Tour) in the US late last year but has struggled on local soil, including her final round foldup in the TCC where she led in the first three rounds in the race for the low amateur honors only to falter in the end.

She was even nipped by Ikeda for runner-up honors to eventual winner Mhark Fernando but has vowed to make up for the lost chance with a victory in Iloilo. Ardina is also set to see action in the WWWExpress-DHL Amateur Open next week before leaving for the US to resume her studies in Florida.

However, it won’t be easy for Ardina, who faces a power-packed cast of challengers, headed by Ikeda of Davao City and fellow ICTSI team members and former champion Anya Tanpinco, Dabawenya Sarah Ababa, Daniella Uy, Andie Unson, Sun Choi and Sheryl Villavicencio.

Also in the fold are Alabang’s Anna Marie Cruz and Gail Banson, Canlubang’s Lucy Landicho and Ikuku Kito, Mt. Malarayat’s Rowena Royena and Surlianti Walker, Tagaytay Highlands’ Mayenne Varua and Karen Buenaventura and Del Monte’s Eva Minoza, Marife Jarales and Lovelyn Guioguio, who finished runner-up to Cyna Rodriguez
in the recent RP Ladies Open.
The event, sponsored the Philippine Sports Commission, WWWExpress-DHL Worldwide Express, Karat World, DPC Yellow Pages, Hans Brumann International Jeweler, Petron Corp. and Sarabia Manor Hotel, features the individual, team competiton and seniors division. Aside from the centerpiece Championship Flight, other titles to be disputed are Classes A, B, C and D. The seniors division will be for players 55 years old and above.

The individual competition will be a 54-hole tournament under the Molave scoring format while the seniors and team event, a four-to-play, three-to-count format, will be played in the first two days over 36 holes using the Stableford scoring system (net of handicap).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s