Coach E Hoop Club final session on May 1

Coach Eric Altamirano will lead coaches in the last session of the Coach E Hoop Club clinic on May 1 at the Montana gym in Agdao.

The week-long basketball session will also have a closing ceremony at 11 a.m.

Participants were able to learn the latest on basketball drills and lessons direct from the most sought after mentor coach Altamirano.

Davao coordinator Atty.Manny Nitorreda thanked coach Altamirano for bringing the clinic to Davao and hopes that participants will improve their game after the clinic.


Pomelo Tee starts at Palos

The 2008 Pomelo Tee starts on May 1 until May 3 at the Rancho Palos Verdes Golf and Country Club.

Attractive prizes like a Mitsubishi GLX Fuzion by Kar Asia, a 200-square meter lot at South Pacific, Caribbean Cruise for two, Yamaha golf cart and P1million are at stake for the hole-in-one winners.

Close to 300 players are joining the event that follows the modified Stableford format, maximum handicap of 24 and for 21 years old and above players.

Giveaways will also be given to the participants.

Davao teams in Nestea Beach Volleyfest in Boracay

University of Mindanao Tagum Raquelito Tayabas (right) gives a hard spike while Arnel Amadeo of the Foundation University blocks on the 2nd day of Nestea Beach Volley Championship in Boracay. UM lost.DAVAO SPORTSWRITERS ASSN.

University of Mindanao-Tagum’s Rowell Fabian (right) and Raquelito Tayabas go for the ball against Foundation University on the 2nd day of Nestea Beach Volley Championship in Boracay. UM lost this game. DAVAO SPORTSWRITERS ASSN.

University of Mindanao-Davao’s Maricel Cabus attacks against Far Eastern University on the 2nd day of Nestea Beach Volley Championship in Boracay. UM lost.DAVAO SPORTSWRITERS ASSN.

University of Mindanao-Davao Maricel Cabus serves against Far Eastern University on the 2nd day of Nestea Beach Volley Championship held in Boracay. UM lost this game. DAVAO SPORTSWRITERS ASSN.

Registration ongoing for Futures 3-on-3 Baller Battle

Registration is ongoing for the 2008 Futures 3-on-3 Baller Battle which tips off on May 3 and 4 at the Davao Christian High School Gym.
Organizers said deadline of submission of entries will be on May 2, a day before the prestigious 3-on-3 tournament unfurls.
The two-day tournament will have mini (born 1997, 1998, 1999)), midgets (1994, 1995, 1996), juniors (born 1991 and younger) and girls (born 1991 and younger) categories.
Registration is pegged at P500 per team for the mini division plus 12 empty boxes of primovit syrup (120ml). For other categories entry fee is P600 plus 2 empty boxes of primovit multi-vitamin capsules.
Cash prizes are up for grabs in the tournament sponsored by And1 and Primovit vitamins.
The champion teams will take home P7, 500 while the runner-up will receive P5, 000.
For more information please may call or text at 0920-6079207 and for primovit orders contact Regie Radoc at 0922-6410888.

List-up for Primovit Age-Group chessfest on

Registration has started for the Primovit Future

Age-Group Rapid Chess Tournament on May 23 to 24 at

the Gaisano South Citimall in Ilustre.

The two-day tournament, sanctioned by the National

Chess Federation of the Philippines, will have an

under 20, under 16, under 14, under 12 years old

divisions as organizers look for promising players who

will in the future represent the country to

international competitions like youthful grandmaster

Wesley So, winner of the Dubai Open.

Prizes are up for grabs to the winners.

Participants are required to buy Primovit

multi-vitamins worth P300 to qualify.

For more information, contact national arbiter Ronnie

Tabudlong at 3004260, email rmtabudlong@yahoolcom, or

Regie Radoc at 09226410888.

Gen.Santos, South Cotabato rule 31st Fedbop Nat’l C’ships

Host Gen.Santos City clinched the 31st Fedbop National Duckpin Bowling Championship trophy, Saturday night, at the Dover Lanes-Gen.Santos City, besting the efforts of Davao City Bowlers Association-Asklepius.

Sunday Bowlers Club-Lord of the Eagles settled for third place, followed by Iligan City Bowlers Association.

South Cotabato Bowlers Association ruled the women’s side over Davao City Bowlers Association-Phoenix.

Gen.Santos City Bowlers Association placed third.

Martin Berondo of Daciba emerged as the men’s master champion while Louella Cerna shared the limelight by taking the women’s title.

In the youth division, Nikko Franco Morales won the 13 to 14 years old class, Ian Anthony Novicio clinched the 15 to 16 years old title while Cebil Marie Genoza grabbed the girl’s crown.

DATEC inducts new member club

The Davao Association of Tennis Clubs, Inc. (DATEC) formally inducted as a new member the Mintal Tennis Club. Club President Noel Taglucop expressed deep gratitude as it had been excited since last year for his club to join DATEC. Taking note of the clubs many activities and especially taking note that one of DATEC’s biggest project in the youth development. This has synchronized with their clubs objectives graduating some 80 students with their free summer clinic which they started last summer.

The clubs induction into DATEC membership was a double celebration since the elected officers of DATEC for 2008 also had their induction there. The inducting officer would have been Hon. Paolo Duterte but due to prior commitment, failed to make it and so Barangay Captain Ramon Bargamento took his place. Elected into Office are the following:

President : Atty. Edgardo M. Caboverde

Vice-President : Mr. Alex. Bernan

Secretary : Engr.Carol R. Angel

Treasurer : Engr. Jun Ronulo

Auditor : Mr. Polet Casal

Provincial Directors :

Dvo. Del Sur: Mayor Joel Ray Lopez

Dvo. Oriental: Mayor Pedro T. Mejos

Dvo del Norte Col. Palawan Macadindang

Seeding Committee Chair Engr. Ronnievic Mangaron

Tournament Committee Chair Alex Ferraren

Board of directors: Mr. Alberto Soncuya (Banaybanay Tennis Club)

Mr. Lito Manalo (Lupon Tennis Club)

Mr. Richard Castillon (Sigaboy Tennis Club)

Col. Jimmy Manabat (Catitipan Tennis Club)

Engr. Rolando Tañara (Davao Capitol Tennis Club)

Engr. Clyde Jumao-as (DENR Tennis Club)

Mr. Ricardo SD Justol (DMC Tennis Club)

Mr. Jun Sevillano (Flores Village Tennis Club)

Mr. Art Boncato/Mr. Ed Abastillas (GSIS Tennis Club)

Mr. Janus Rafailes (IGACOS Tennis Club)

Mr. Noel Taglucop (Mintal Tennis Club)

Col. Adani Sakkam (Nova Tierra Tennis Club)

    • Mr. Ednulfo Ancajas (PTA Tennis Club)
    • Mr. Peter Ngo (St. John of the Cross Tennis Club)
    • Engr. Virgilio Anuta (Toril Tennis Club)
    • Dr. Lyndon Roble (USeP Tennis Club)

As a special guest, Mr. Elmer A. Dolera, organizer of the Goodwill tours 2008, attended the ceremony and informed the group that he is pleased to come to the Philippines bringing with him 3 USPTA coaches (Ted Sayrahder, Brian Cunniff and Mark Allen)to provide free training to kids and coaches. They are here n the Philippines for a 5-week tour around the country, Davao City being their first stop over. (PR)