RDR Beach Volleyfest blasts off in Tagum City on Saturday


The Governor Rodolfo del Rosario Team Philippines Women’s Beach Volleyball Challenge blasts off on Saturday, December 1, at the Tagum Volleydrome.

Seeing action are the Thailand SEA Games-bound national squad, University of Mindanao, Tagum City, Holy Cross of Davao College and Ateneo de Davao University.

The RP Team has been training at the Tagum Volleydrome and will fine tune its skills against the Davao teams before attending to the December 6 opening ceremony.

The tournament is sponsored by Davao Province Sports Coordinator Anthony G. del Rosario, Tagum City Mayor Rey T. Uy and the Philippine Sports Commission through the Office of Commissioner Leon G. Montemayor.

Cash prizes are up for grabs.

Anthony del Rosario will also be backing the national squad’s campaign to the SEA Games, said organizers.


No gold medal yet for RP

Team Philippines has not won a gold medal yet in the 24th Southeast Asian Games in Thailand.

Almost by Nathaniel “Tac” Padilla.

By the way, the Philippines is the defending champions.

To defend the over-all title, the Philippine Sports Commission appropriated P100 million.


Sports for Peace

I just learned from Walter Balane’s blog, Istambay sa Mindanao, that today is the start of the Mindanao Week of Peace.

I was wondering why there is no activity for sports.

I was able to hear from somewhere that there is a “Sports for Peace” program being studied by the religioius leaders.

You see, sports is a very, very effective tool in promoting peace in Mindanao.

Think about it.

18th Durian Tee starts

The 18th Durian Tee Golf Tournament tees off on Thursday, November 29, with more than 400 participants expected to join at the Apo Golf and Country Club course.
Club Manager Martin Misa said that everything is ready and that the fairways will be enjoyed by the golfers.

“We just wanted our participants to enjoy the course too, aside from the prizes that are at stake,” said Misa.
Kar Asia Inc. is the primary sponsor by parading a Mitsubishi Fusion GLX as hole-in-one prize.

The other hole-in-one winners will get P500,000 cash, a Yamaha golf cart and Yamaha motorcycle courtesy of the Norkis Group of Companies.

Players, he said, follow the 36-hole Stableford format and may choose the November 29, 30, December 1,2 dates.

“They can play at their convenient schedule,” said Misa added that Mayor Rodrigo Duterte, Mabuhay Exchange Trading, Anflocor Management Corp., Kart Plaza, BHI Group of Companies, Medsa, DCWD, H2Zero Distilled Drinking Water, UMBN, Monark Equipment Corp., Wilson Sports and JLBP Manpower Services have came in as major sponsors.
Club President Ed Bangayan will lead officials in the ceremonial tee off of the event also backed by Maxam Trucking Services, Orient Glass and Aluminum Supply, Felcris Supermarket, BIDA/VALOR Security Agency, Zakoya Japanese Restaurant, MG Golf Academy, Countryside Steel, Apo View Hotel, Multi-turf, Coca-Cola Bottlers Phils., RCBC Savings, JTL Insurance Agency/Stronghold Insurance, San Andres Fishing, Philsaga Mining Corp. , Chiquita Unifrutti Phils., Jaime Tan Sr.,and Hedcor.

Cachuela beats Gen.Boac by 1 stroke

Lando Cachuela sizzled with a 70 to emerge Division 1 net champion, beating Gen.Ernesto Boac by one stroke in the 10th Monthly Medal Tournament of the Rancho Palos Verdes Golf and Country Club, Sunday.
Paul Puyat shared the honors by winning Division 2 with a 70, two strokes better than singer Chad Borja.
Denden de Castro emerged as over-all gross champion with an 81 while Talomo Precinct Head Atty.Matthew Baccay submitted a 69.
Paraluman Hager carded 110 for the over-all gross title while Leah Ku took the over-all net crown with an 87.
In the senior’s division, Totoy Gilles went home with the over-all gross crown with an 84 while Rufino dela Serna came up with a 67 for the over-all net title even as Bill Larouse finished the round with a 70 to win the net title and Nonoy Llamas fired a 71 to finish first runner-up.
Martin Maghrablian won the 11 years old and below title with a 91 while Khalik Samanodi landed runner-up with a 106. Kuresh took the 12-17 years old title with an 84.
In the member’s division, TJ Brodeth came up with a 66 for the over-all net title while Lee Jong Wan had a 74 for the over-all gross crown.
Joe Marfori mastered the class A with a gross 77, besting Kim Kyung Kwang by one stroke while Bobby Wee won via better countback over Faisal Samanodi for the net honors after both scored identical 70s.
Emerging class champions were Ronald Galicia (gross 77) and Lee Hyo Sung (net 66) in class B, Gary Trono (gross 84) and Alex Rivera (net 69) in class C, Song Young Keun (gross 95) and Gadi Sorilla (net 69) in class D.

PSC Chairman with DC Vice Mayor, NorCot Vice Governor, DSA President

Davao City Vice Mayor Sara “Inday” Duterte-Carpio (extreme left) shares a light moment with Philippine Sports Commission Chairman William “Butch” Ramirez and North Cotabato Vice Governor Emmanuel Piñol (2nd from right) at the SM City  Davao. The City Council of Davao has included the creation of the Davao City Sports Commission as one of its priority legislations. At extreme right is Davao Sportswriters Association (DSA) President and Sunstar Davao Sports Editor Charles Raymond Maxey. (Photo courtesy of DSA)